(2021 c007) Valentine on Die Cut Letterpress Background

Background Letterpress only with Fired Brick
Letterpress Fired Brick Plus Swiped Persimmon

I used one of my favorite techniques for the backgrounds, I again had fun following Jennifer McGuire’s Die Cut Letterpress Technique video to create the background.  I created the DIY Letterpress by cutting 3 pieces of heavy cardstock with Kat Scrappiness Star Fusion  and glued together.  Then I covered the top with Versamark Ink and heat embossed with white EP so that I can apply ink for letterpressing and clean off and use again and again. I covered this DIY stamp with Fired Brick Distress Oxide Inks by Ranger and placed white cardstock on top with a silicone matt on top of the cardstock & ran it through my die cutting machine to press/print. For the second background I swiped Ripe Persimmon  Distress Oxide Inks by Ranger.

The first card I covered the heart area in the middle on the background with Versamark Ink and heat embossed with Kaleidoscope Embossing Powder by Stampendous. The Heart was cut out of metalic cardstock using  TONIC STUDIOS Traditional Heart Die Set 1459e for the outer cut and the center was cut out using a very old and discontinued die set called Swirled Heart by SpellbindersThe link will show you other hearts they still carry. Love was cut using Love Stamp & Cut by Hero Arts .

For the second card I followed Jennifer McGuire’s technique called Colorful Die Cut Layering to create the patchwork behind the heart.

Challenges Entered:

Simon Says Stamp(Mon.) Love/Hearts

Simon Says Stamp(Wed.) Love is In The Air

Mod SquadAll About LOVE

Frilly & Funkie: Groundhog Day ( Use a favorite technique or stamp etc)

Kat ScrappinessLove / Hearts

Word Art WednesdayChal. #477-478 – Anything Goes

4 Comments

  1. Verna Angerhofer

    Beautiful Valentine design.

  2. Judy Woodland

    Another beauty. I love that die and you have really used it perfectly. Your backgrounds are amazing, just lovely. Thanks for playing along with us once again over at The Mod Squad.

  3. Sara Barker

    Lagene, these are so beautiful! I love that you’ve used that letterpress technique in two ways–very interesting and great effects! Thanks so much for sharing these cards with us at The Funkie Junkie Boutique Blog–now I’ve got to learn that technique!

  4. stampersuzz

    Beautiful cards and lovely techniques! I am sure the lucky recipients loved them! Thanks for joining us in The Funkie Junkie Boutique Challenge!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.