(2020 c012) Repurposed Ahcohol Ink + Photo Paper Background

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I Love trying new techniques with sometimes odd combinations.  Today’s background behind the Sue Wilson Scandinavian Collection Background Die  was fun to make.   First of all it is a redo from one of my many practice backgrounds from way back in December of 2018 you can see that post HERE   See that card in the photo on the right.  The photo below shows 2 of the many pieces that I was experimenting with back in 2018.  So glad I can’t bear to throw anything away (even if I can’t imagine what I will ever do with it.

Today’s background started with another of the leftover trial pieces that actually had a name written across the middle and here is how they were all made:  I first colored on Kodak Photo Paper with Ranger Alcohol Inks  by scribbling across the paper with the nozzle of the alcohol ink bottle. Then I spritzed with 90% alcohol. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA The scribbled areas really stained the photo paper and remained bold when the alcohol spread out a fainter color from it around the rest of the background.

The photo on the right shows how I pounced Ranger Alcohol Inks and silver Mixative all around the original background along with more 91% Isopropal Alcohol from Wal Mart and Tim Holtz Alcohol Ink Blending Solution.   I’m happy with the results!  The die camofloges the letters in the middle.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAs you can see in the second picture above To create the sentiment I cut heavy white cardstock with My Favorite Things Simply CHEERS Die-namics and covered the shadow with Versamark Ink  and Sea Glass Blue Ranger Embossing Powder, Then in the first picture above you can see I placed the individual letters on washi tape and applied Versamark again and heat embossed with Silver EP.  That is what was left on the washi tape, I will SAVE it of course and alter it further to add to something else down the road, HA HA. On the inside the sentiment was cut from blue mirror cardstock with Pink & Main Happy Birthday PNM200 .  Hope you could follow my crazy procedure for this CHEERS BIRTHDAY card.

Challenges Entered:

KatScrappinessNo Designer Paper

PowerPoppy Celebrate Good Times

FrillyAndFunky Repeat Performance – USE SOMETHING THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN THROWN AWAY (I used old photo paper/alcohol ink experiments from 2018)

DiesRUs:  Chal. #137 – Birthdays (I used Sue Wilson die)

MyFavoriteThingsBirthday Project – Cheers

MyFavoriteThingsSketch 473MFT_WSC_473_large

5 Comments

  1. Verna Angerhofer

    Beautiful looking card.

  2. Lagene, you did an excellent job of camouflaging that inky background with those beautiful die cuts and shadowed sentiment. Well done! Thank you so much for playing along with us again at The Funkie Junkie Boutique Blog! Hugs!

  3. Lisa Bzibziak

    Gorgeous and so much inspiration here!

  4. Cec

    Love that you re-purposed your inky background and added lots of shine to it. Thanks for joining us at The Funkie Junkie Boutique Blog.
    Hugs!
    Cec

  5. Maggi Harding

    Love your inky background! Thanks for sharing your process with us and thanks for joining in our challenge on The Funkie Junkie blog.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.