(2019 c78) Hero Arts & Distress Oxides

(2019 c78) HA Clear Emboss on swede oxide.jpg

Once again I followed Jennifer McGuire’s Embossed Watercolor Lift Technique.  And once again I had a little snafoo …. After applying Picked Raspberry, Wilted Violet, Seedless Preserves, Dusty Concord, Blueprint Sketch & Salty Ocean  Distress Oxide Inks by Ranger to the background, I made the mistake of adding water spray & drying it, This changed the color so much, I didn’t think that after stamping and lifting that the stamped images would show up because the background was so oxidized & light.

Boy was I pleasantly surprised when I stamped Hero Arts  SB104 Color Layering Butterflies Bundle  and Hero Arts Hello Flowers  with Versamark Ink and heat embossing with Clear Ranger Embossing Powderthe result as you can see is that it DARKENED & INTENSIFIED THE COLORS BENEATH!   Oh joy, HAPPY DANCE!  So instead of the intended color lift I accidentally achieved much the same look by oxidizing the inks on the background first.  And I love how that looks like soft suede, kind of mimicking the look of pastel chalks on suede.  Another HAPPY DANCE!

I stamped the sentiment onto vellum & heat embossed with black and wrapped around the edges to attach.

Challenges Entered:

ABlogNamedHeroStretch Your Stamps (this background technique by Jen McGuire is a cool way to use this stamp even though my attempt went awry)

PowerPoppy Creative Challenge – One Challenge 3 ways (I used #1 Nature)CreativeConfetti-8-20.jpg

SimonSaysStamp: Clean & Simple

4 Comments

  1. Verna Angerhofer

    This is a gorgeous card and the colors are wonderful!

  2. Lisa Bzibziak

    SO beautiful!! Love that look… must give this one a try… I find the best techniques when I visit here!

  3. This is so pretty – I always love how clear-embossing catches the light… there’s something magical about that shimmer.
    Alison x

  4. kristina3150

    Very pretty! Thank you for joining us at A Blog Named Hero

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.