(2017 c73) Ellen Hutson, Altenew & Simon Says Stamp

Today’s shaker is just that, not a card, not a tag, just a shaker.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As you can see on the right I started by stamping on watercolor paper with the veggies from Thankful by Ellen Hutson.  I inked the stamps in my misti with Versamark Ink then I sprinkled Color Burst by Ken Oliver  and burnished into the stamped images with finger & brushed off the excess powders. Then spritzed the stamps with water & stamped again (this caused the colors to bleed)  Then dried and stamped again with Versamark ink and heat embossed with clear EP.  Then I colored the background with watered down powdered Pigment product called Color Burst by Ken Oliver .  To help keep dimension between layers of shaker (that will make more sense later)  I sewed the gold “leaves” bead on top of gold 2 holed sequin to the sky of my painted background.

For the shaker I have 2 layers of clear products. On top I used a heavy re-purposed packaging plastic for sturdiness.  the layer behind is heat resistant 3M Transparency Film for High Temperature Laser Copiers.  On one side I stamped Thank You from Painted  Greetings stamp set by AltENew.  On the other side I applied Tim Holtz Alcohol Inks by Ranger  (I’m not sure I would do this next time, because it obscures the painted background too much, or at least use less)   This film was sandwiched behind the outside sturdy plastic and I added a few beads inside.  The outside frame was cut with Postage Stamp Edge Frames by Simon Says Stamp and I stacked several layers for the inside to create the depth for the shaker.  Since the 3M transparency film as a little bulgy because of the beads between it and the outside, that is why I had to add the sewn on beads to the background so that the beads added in background layer would move around.   Last step for the frame surface, I applied Metalic Rub-ons  media from Old Island Stamp Company in B.C. Canada. I added this with my fingertip very lightly to give the aged, gold guilded look.

Challenges Entered:

DiesRUs:  Chal #84 – Anything Fall

DieCutDivas:  November Challenge – Thankful

SimonSaysStamp:  Thanks/Thanksgiving

Altenew:  Nov 2017 Inspiration Challenge

CasUalFridays:  Anything but a card

SimonSaysStamp:  (mon) Thanks/Thanksgiving

ModSquad:  It’s all in the Color (no white or ivory)

WordArtWednesday:  chal  308-309 Anything Goes

Dare2BArtzy:  Gratitude

FrillyAndFunky:  Timeworn (my frame looks old and the film inside shaker makes it look like an old mirror)

 

 

6 Comments

  1. Verna Angerhofer

    Very pretty shaker design.

  2. Wow, Lagene, This sounds very complicated. I love the idea of the shaker card and that antique frame is fabulous. Thanks for sharing with us at the Mod Squad Challenge this week. Hope to see you again.

    Barbara, challenge host

  3. Fun shaker! Love the background you created for it! Thanks so much for sharing your awesome project with us at Simon Says Stamp Monday challenge! hugs, Maura

  4. What a great idea for your shaker card. So glad you joined us at Die Cut Divas.

  5. Lagene, this is such a creative project and certainly has that timeworn feel to it! The idea of a shaker always interests me, and now I’m inspired to give it a try! I LOVE that frame– looks like it’s been aged to perfection! May I asked how you did that? The acetate panel truly gives the look of a mirror that has lost some of it’s silver over the years. Thank you so much for sharing this with us at Frilly and Funkie–it fits’ the challenge so well! Hugs!

  6. WOW, you certainly put a lot of time and effort into this shaker! Beautiful work and thanks for joining us at CAS-ual Fridays.

Leave a Reply

