(2017 c24) Essentials by Ellen, Oxide Distress

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMore fun with Distress Oxide Inks by RangerPeeled Paint, Broken China, Wilted Violet & regular Distress Ink Blueprint Sketch.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As you can see to the right, First I impressed the dies from Essentials by Ellen die set called Wild Garden by Julie Ebersole into my watercolor paper by using a silicone mat with my Sizzix Big Kick so that I would know where to apply Distress Oxide Inks by Ranger for my flowers. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFor the purple I first layered regular Distress Ink: Blueprint Sketch and then sponged Oxide Wilted Violet on top.  Then I sponged Broken China for the background. In the second picture you can see how I spritzed the entire piece with water to softer & make the Oxide react.  The picture on the left shows how i had taped my dies together for the first impression and then it was possible to place over the flowers & actually cut out after coloring.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWhen removing the pieces from the  background I used a great technique I learned from Jennifer McGuire’s Post with Laurie Willison about positioning die pieces with Press N Seal (Jennifer’s Husband actually invented Press N Seal). The picture on the right shows that the entire piece was pressed down on a piece of Press N Seal and then carefully lifted off the large background piece leaving the die cuts positioned on the  Press N Seal.

For this card I lined the background with a piece of white cardstock and I then removed the center pieces and glued in the appropriate empty spaces of the flowers. Finally I sprayed water onto my hand and “clapped” it over the piece to create drops & heated to cause the Oxide Ink to react. The sentiment was cut from DCWV 6×6:  The Foiled Cardstock MS-019-00003 with Positive Word by Julie Ebersole EEDIEJ-042-16

Tomorrow I will make a card using the actual cut out flowers.

Challenges Entered:

EssentialsByEllenHutson: March – Pin Sights ChallengeEllenH March 17

PowerPoppy:  March Chal. – Lets Go Green

SimonSaysStamp(Wed.) Bit O Green

challenge_graphic_Mar16_animated_150#thedailymarker30day

AAADiecuts: CAS #86 – Diecutsaaacards #86.jpg

SugarPeasDesignsMix It Up Chal.#29302017-sugarpeadesign

5 Comments

  1. Beautiful card…great colors too.

  2. Gorgeous, beautiful card, love the background.
    Thank you for joining us at Simon says Stamp Wednesday Challenge.
    Luv
    Debby

  3. beaglefest

    I love how you did this-I wouldn’t have thought of this! Great card!

  4. Fabulous technique, makes for a very pretty and unusual card. Thanks for sharing at AAA Cards.

  5. Coralynn

    Love the colours you’ve used and how you applies the dies to your card. Thanks for playing along with us at AAA Cards!

Leave a Reply

