(2016 c23) Color Burst Butterflies

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I started by cutting corrugated cardboard with the Fiskar’s Fancy Flier punch.  I then placed 2 butterflies on the watercolor paper and sprinkled Color Burst by Ken Oliver  Yellow Ochre  on the  left side of the paper  and  Orange on the  lower right side of the lower butterfly.  Then I spritzed with water & then removed the butterflies You can see in the photo below

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

that the lower butterfly is still on the card serving as a mask. I then added Ultramarine Blue at the top and moved the color with a paintbrush to surround the top of the upper butterfly. The butterfly was so saturated, that the top layer pealed off leaving the super lumpy inside of the corrugated cardboard… I love the dimension, you can see if you zoom on the top picture. where I adheared it to the  right.

I applied Stickit by Ken Oliver to the back of cardstock & cut the sentiment from Lawn Fawn called Thinking of You.

Challenges Entered:

Ken Oliver:  Family (use Color Burst)

SouthernChipboard:  Anything Spring

MixedMediaMonthlyChallenge#23 Dimension

DieCutDivas:  Associate with April (Butterflies for me)

SimonSaysStamp: Butterfly Beauties (Mon.)

8 Comments

  1. gioperu

    It’s beautiful, Lagene!! Thanks so much for playing along the Ken Oliver Craft April Challenge!!

  2. Verna Angerhofer

    Gorgeous. I so enjoy working with the color bursts too.

  3. Marcelle

    Oh my what a beautiful card Lagene!! Love it!!

  4. This is so beautiful! Love the Colorburst colors, and that butterfly is really cool, too! Thanks for joining us at Die Cut Diva’s this month!

  5. Wonderful butterflies! Love playing with colorburst – so fun to see what comes out! Thank you so much for playing with us at The Mixed Media Monthly Challenge!

  6. this is so pretty! i just got some color burst in the mail yesterday and now i REALLY cant wait to play! Thank you so much for playing with the Mixed Media Monthly Challenge!

    -Rachel
    http://www.rwkrafts.com

  7. Lovely card. I love those brilliant colors.

    So glad you joined us at Die Cut Divas.

  8. This is such a pretty card! I love butterflies, but I haven’t tried the Brushos yet. Looks like good stuff! Thank you for your kind words on my blog! I’ve appreciated reading your comments, but haven’t been able to return the favor. For some reason when I comment my internet goes kapooie, so i keep having to reset my computer. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

