(2016 c8) Upcycle Shaker Card

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I can’t let a nice clear piece of clear plastic packaging material go, It is trimmed and put into my stash Boxes (yes that is plural) in my craft room.  I love to use them for the windows of my shaker cards! (this just may be the year of the shaker card for me!!!!

Challenges Entered:

SimonSaysStamp:  Recycle – Upcycle (Mon)

Again I used Ken Oliver Color Burst (Watercolor Pigment Powder) Today’s background was made with Merlot and Violet and Ultramarine Blue.  The background for the shaker portion used Merlot and Ultramarine Blue.   I start by heavily spritzing  watercolor paper with a fine water mist, next I sprinkle the Pigment Powder on the wet paper and watch the magic happen.  If there isn’t enough movement in the colors I spritz again with water. If you look closely on the bigger frame portion I let the lightly sprinkled Merlot and Ultramarine Blue dry completely and then added the Violet and sprayed heavily in the upper right and total left side of the paper, this caused the violet to really pool for a more complete coverage. If the color isn’t moving enough, just spray close & at an angle in the direction you want it to go.   But you can still see spots of Merlot peeking through the Violet.  Ha Ha I know TMI. I should just list the colors and let people see what they see….just stop with so many words!  (That is why I put the Challenges Entered above, for those who just don’t have time for all this foolishness 🙂 🙂

The window was cut out with Spellbinders Media MiXage One Heart  die. The Shaker well was formed by cutting the heart into 2 sheets of fun foam and sticking them together and then adhering to the front panel that first had a sheet of clear packaging material adhered to the back of it. I filled the well with sequins and clear beads by Darise Glass Beads and Sequins from Joann Craft Store.

3 Comments

  1. Wonderful colors.

  2. Beautiful card, background is wonderful and I love the sequins into the heart! Thanks for joining us this week on Simon Says Monday CHallenge Blog! Barbara

  3. Love all those colors, bright and bold!

Leave a Reply

