(2015 c78) Penny Black & Unity Stamps, Snowy Christmas

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Big experiment day for me!  I first applied Art Masking Fluid by Windsor & Newton with a Kemper Spatter Brush on water color paper and let it dry.  Here is a great video by Heather Telford showing how to use it.

I masked the skyline for the mountain.  Next I used Ancient Page Dye Ink Refills Calypso, Neptune & Turquois to color my sky and Deep Harbor for the mountains and snow drift shadows. I squeezed a couple of drops on my craft mat and squirted a puddle of alcohol  close by.  I sprayed the paper with alcohol first and then mixed the Calypso reinker with alcohol & brushed here and there on the sky area,  I changed to Neptune and brushed in some of the areas that weren’t covered and then switched to Turquois and did the same thing.

For the mountain I used some of the Calypso and Deep Harbor to color the mountain.  For the snowbanks I Masked and used a very diluted (with alcohol) Deep Harbor.  

I then stamped the trees from Penny Black’s Nature’s Friends stamp set

with Versamark and heat embossed with a mixture of Emerald and  embossing powders.  I stamped the tree’s snow layer & embossed with white.  I  then took a stipple brush and pounced the Versamark Ink on the ridgeline of the mountain  (using the mask above it) and then heat embossed white for the snow. When everything is totally dry I rubbed the masking fluid off with my fingers to reveal the snowy or starry sky!

The silver Joy was cut with Scripty Joy by Lawn Fawn.

  For the

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

inside I masked the hills and sponged the snowbanks and around the perimiter with Stamping Up’s Turquois ink.   I fussy cut 2 more trees from Nature’s Friends and glued them on the page.  Last I stamped the sentiment from Unity Stamp Company’s stamp set called Happiest Season of All.

 

 

Challenges Entered:  

PoweredByPoppy:   Time to Rewind – (I chose The Sky’s the Limit for the sky and Bits & Pieces for the cutout trees on the inside)

UnityStampCoBlog: Be Inspired Chal. (Use Unity Stamps)

ModSquad:  All that Glitters

SimonSays:  Just a Pinch

7 Comments

  1. Verna a

    I love this gorgeous scene.

  2. Heidi Stamps

    Very pretty scene. I like how you decorated both the inside and outside of your card.

  3. Lovely winter scene!

  4. beaglefest

    Beautiful!

  5. This is oh so pretty! Love the treatment of the tree!

  6. Wonderful job on this wintry scene, the hills and snowdrift look awesome. Thanks for playing in Power Poppy’s Rewind Challenge!

  7. A perfect Sky’s the Limit design! A beautiful scene inside and out! Thanks so much for joining us at Power Poppy this month!

Leave a Reply

