(2014 c60) Unity Mixed Media – Tissue

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today’s card started by using the Itty Bitty stamp by Unity Stamp Co, called Graffiti Art.  Since it is Itty Bitty  and measures about 2.25″ x 3.75″ I stamped the kraft cardstock several times turning my stamp this way and that. I used Versamark Ink and heat embossed with Gold EP.  I then took my Artist Loft Pearlescent watercolors found at Michaels and did a color was over the background.  When it was dry it was wrinkly and warped, so I cut a piece of re-purposed cardboard from a cereal box and glued  together with Matte Multi Medium.  It helps to use a brayer for several minutes to work out all the bubbles and wrinkles and then place under a stack of heavy books to dry.

I then stamped the focal Ellie Girl  by Unity Stamp Co. with Versamark Ink onto Tissue Paper and heat embossed with Black EP.  Then I colored on the back side with Sharpie Markers.  I then wet the paper (with a paintbrush dipped in water) very close to the embossed edges and carefully tore away the excess paper right up close to the embossed edge.    I applied this with Matte Medium on top of the background.  The sentiment from Unity Stamp Co. called Basically Said was done the same way as Ellie.
Challenges Entered:
SimonSays:  Thinking of You
MixedMediaMonthlyChallenge:  Ch. #6 – Stamps
WordArtWednesday:  Anything Goes
UnityStamp: Friends With Flair Friday
 
24 Comments

  1. Verna Angerhofer

    This is a really cool background you created. You are certainly having fun with the tissue paper these days. Good for you!

  2. The embossing is so awesome! What a fabulous mixed media project! Thanks so much for playing Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “Thinking of You” Challenge!

  3. Karen L

    This is absolutely beautiful and has such AMAZING texture to it. You’ve done a STUNNING job. I’m very inspired, and look forward to seeing more of your amazing art. If you ever want to link up with us, we have fun weekly Anything Goes challenges at Word Art Wednesday http://www.wordartwednesday.blogspot.com and I would also LOVE to have you visit my blog to say hello when you are able.
    God bless you, and I look forward to seeing your creations again real soon.
    Karen Letchworth
    http://www.wordartwednesday.blogspot.com – My Challenge Blog
    http://www.karen-mycuprunnethover.blogspot.com – My Personal Blog

    You’re super talented, and I’m so glad to meet you!
    Karen

  4. Love the backgrous,fab techniques.xxx

  5. Carole

    The embossing is outstanding and the whole card is delicious. Thank you for stopping by with your lovely art. This is our 157th Anything Goes Art Challenge here at Word Art Wednesday. We appreciate your participation and hope to see you again and again..
    Blessings,
    Carole Robb Bisson

  6. marcelle baldwin

    Oooh this is fabulous!!!

  7. I love this! You did such a fantastic job on this.

  8. This is gorgeous!! The background is stunning! Thanks for playing at the MMMC!!

  9. This is gorgeous,love your tissue technique.xxx

  10. Becky Scovill

    Absolutely unforgettable.

  11. Rebecca Yahrling

    Gorgeous colors – love it!

  12. What an amazing card and technique!

  13. RUBY M

    Absolutely stunning. Thanks for the details. I like the end result.

  14. Tina

    Cool technique! What a fantastic mix media card!

  15. The texture and colors are fabulous- what a great idea to share

  16. Farley Cross

    Awesome and so artful. One of my favorite stamps too.

  17. beaglefest

    Wow-this is so fab! I’m really impressed with that tissue paper technique!

  18. This is so beautiful!

  19. great!!!

  20. Oh wow – this turned out so great! I love the texture and that fabulous metallic gold. LOVE it!

  21. oh she’s beautiful!! i love love that background with all the shimmer! Thank you so much for playing with the Mixed Media Monthly Challenge!
    -Rachel

  22. Can you hear me whistling with all that gorgeous gold? I am!

  23. WOW! What a gorgeous creation!

  24. Great card. Thanks for joining us at the Mixed Media Monthly Challenge Blog!

Leave a Reply

