(2014 c59) GinaK Designs One of my oldest stampsets

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today’s card was made with one stamp (the doilie) from one of my oldest stampsets called Nana’s Needlework by Nina Bracket from GinaK Designs.  It is no longer available for sale.  I love the old fashioned doily, I remember my grandmother and aunt crocheting these.

I stamped the doily on light blue cardstock & heat embossed with clear EP and then sponged the sky with Tumbled Glass Distress Ink by Ranger.  I highlighted the center of the large doily on the background and stamped 3 more centers of the doily and cut out and highlighted with Clear Wink of Stella also.  They made great snowflakes!

All trees were made from the same doily stamp and heat embossed with white onto green paper and strategiclly cut apart.  For the central tree I cut the sides with my Fiskars paper cutter and then fussy cut around the top of the center of the doily so it looks like a star on the tree.  I also masked and stamped another row of scallops and mounted it on top of a wider  piece of doily to make the tree taller.  The rest of the doily was cut for the rest of the trees (That is why they have round little tops because the big tree’s star cut out left that shape)  I highlighted the trees with Glitter Green Wink of Stella

I cut my snow hills with dies from Lawn Fawn called Forrest Boarder and Stitched Hillside Boarders

Challenges Entered:

StampTV:  STV14MON43 – Use Stamp Set from the Past

SimonSays:  (Mon) Good Ol Days

ModSquadChallenge:  Grandma’s Attic – Grab a Doily

DieCutDivas:  Any Holiday

MoxieFabWorld:  Tree-Mendous Tree

CraftAScene:  Trees, Trees, Trees

10 Comments

  1. Verna Angerhofer

    This is super stunning. Love your doily trees. You are so clever and love how you added more snowflakes too.

  2. beaglefest

    Wow-how fantastic! How clever to make the trees out of the doily, and love those snowy hills! Thanks for joining us at Die Cut Diva’s Holiday Challenge!

  3. marcelle baldwin

    So lovely Lagene!! I love Nina’s sets, have a few but not this one! Don’t ya just love the WOS pens!! Hope you are well my friend! Thanks for always leaving wonderful comments on my blog ..I appreciate it! xx

  4. This is gorgeous,fabulous image and background.xxx

  5. Lovely scene.

    So glad you joined us at Die Cut Divas.

  6. Oooh love all of that gorgeous embossing! I had forgotten about that older GKD stamps, so glad your memory is better than mine! Your trees and snowy slopes are a winter wonderland! Thank you so much for playing along in the Mod Squad Challenge I am Hosting!

  7. WOW! I am so absolutely impressed with how your card turned out! What a great interpretation of our “Good Ol’ Days” theme! I am amazed at how modern and beautiful you were able to make this scene look even with your “old” stamps! Just goes to show how a little out-of-the-box thinking can make anything look fresh again. I particularly love the colors and the wonderful shimmer and shine that you added makes it have an elegant touch. I like how the trees have sort of a retro-gingerbread feel and it was genius of you to cut them differently. You’ve inspired me to go digging through some of my old stamp sets! Thank you so much for sharing this with us here at the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog!

  8. Dora

    lovely how you do this scene! beautiful too. very creative made.
    thank you for joining at craft a scene this month.
    kind regards,

  9. Great tree in you scene Gina. Thanks for joining us at Craft A Scene this month.

    Sue xx

  10. terisplace

    Cool scene! And really clever way to make the trees!

Leave a Reply

