(2014 c30) Just Rite Green Chalkboard

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OK this is my Chalkboard Birthday card using Just Rite Papercraft Stamps:  Ticking Stripe Background   & for the sentiment I used Your Special Day Medallion Labels    The frames were cut out using Labels Twenty-Two by Spellbinders.

To achieve the “distressed” look of the background, I laid my paper on the Versamark inked stamp and gently pressed which left some areas unstamped, then heat embossed with white embossing powder.

m6iefptXhR2ZjKB3coHpZewI actually went to school when we had green chalkboards, yes I know that was really in the old days! The Ticking Stripe Background reminds me of my first grade teacher making lines across the green chalkboard with a little device that held 4 pieces of chalk so she could make 4 lines in one swipe! I bet a lot of you have never seen one of these holders on the right.

Challenges entered:

JustRiteFridayChallenge: JRC #120 – Chalkboard Birthday

VsSweetIdeasBlog:  “Distress” – VSC Challenge #23

DiesRUs:  Dies R Us #1 – Anything Goes using Dies

ABlogNamedHero:  Inspired Chal #43 – Inspired by a Hero Artist (Mary Dawn see link)crafters-companion-sheena-douglass-a-little-bit-oriental-sakura-stamp-set-sentimentals-imagine-stamp-set-hero-arts-dark-quartz-shadow-ink-by-mary-dawn-quirindongo

 

4 Comments

  1. LOL I had ‘green chalkboards’ in school too … you’re not alone!! This card is fabulous! Great job! Thanks so much for playing in our ‘ANYTHING GOES’ challenge at Dies R Us! Please come back again soon!

    Darlene (DRU Team Leader)
    DIES R US CHALLENGE BLOG
    DAR’S CRAFTY CREATIONS

  2. marcelle baldwin

    Great card Lagene!!..nope didn’t have them, well not here in Australia in the 60’s/70’s

  3. I actually DO remember the green chalkboards and that little thing they drew lines with – LOL! I love your take on this challenge – Thanks for sharing with us at JustRite Inspiration 😉

  4. beaglefest

    Great card! Love the ribbon drawing attention to the sentiment-I also remember green chalkboards-my husband said I should remember drawing on the cave walls, LOL!

Leave a Reply

