(2014 c25) Winged Journal

Today’s project is the front cover for my grandaughter in TX.  This front cover depicts sunny skies and clear sailing even if there are a few clouds and winds that might buffet us along our Journey.  I have included scriptures on about every 5th page throughout the journal from Scripture Collection found at Our Daily Bread Designs

To see the back of the journal go to the new post seen Here

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love all things Decoupage and Dabbling with Paints, two of my favorite techniques! I incorporated both for today’s Journal cover.  First I used acrylic paints to finger paint and a little brush stroking to make my sky and land.  Then I used the bird and tree stencils from a discontinued Ditto screen set called Double Vision from Hampton Art.  I painted Gel Mediums Molding Paste by Golden on to the screens and applied them to the sky & grass. This gave the bird a wonderful veiny  texture.  I then used Pearlescent water colors by Artist’s Loft found at Michaels to outline the bird and highlight her body, as well as highlighting parts of the tree.  I cut the wings on the lower right corner with Wings of Hope by SPELLBINDERS

I stamped Life is a Journey from Technique Tuesday (retired stamp) across the meadow.

Challenges Entered:

SimonSays:  Winged Things – Monday

Stamploration:  Stamps & Your Favorite Technique

VSSweetIdeas: VSC #22 – Technique

5 Comments

  1. Fab journal cover – I love the texture on the bird. Thanks so much for sharing your favourite technique at STAMPlorations!

  2. marcelle baldwin

    Wow, great card , lots of texture!!!

  3. What a wonderful showcasing of techniques on this pretty card. Thanks for joining us this month at STAMPlorations.

  4. Stunning journal cover! The textured bird is lovely and I really like the scene you built up with the hills and the sky. Thank you so much for joining us this week at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog!

  5. Very nice card.

Leave a Reply

